At Grave’s End – Jeaniene Frost (Night Huntress #3)

Paranormal Romance
Hastings Book Store
Paperback
$7.99
352 Pages
Publisher: Avon
December 30, 2008


(5 Stars)

Back of the book description:
It should be the best time of half-vampire Cat Crawfield’s life.  With her undead lover Bones at her side, she’s successfully protected mortals from the rogue undead.  But though Cat’s worn disguise after disguise to keep her true identity a secrete from the brazen bloodsuckers, her cover’s finally been blown, placing her in terrible danger.

As if that wasn’t enough, a woman from Bones’s past is determined to bury him once and for all. Caught in the crosshairs of a vengeful vamp, yet determined to help Bones stop a lethal magic from being unleashed, Cat’s about to learn the true meaning of bad blood.  And the tricks she’s learned as a special agent won’t help her.  She will need to fully embrace her vampire instincts in order to save herself – and Bones – from a fate worse than the grave.

Another great book from Jeaniene, I have officially added another favorite author to my short list of authors and I am proud to say that to the world!  (Yes, I am a nerd!)

This book kept me on my toes and made me very emotional at several points!  After the first two books you build so many feelings and emotions (AKA, bonds) with the characters and when anything happens to them good, bad, sad, happy, excited, etc…I seem to feel that with them!  Every book you get to know more and more about the characters and keep building such strong opinions of them.  Cat is still one of my favorite girl characters in any vampire series that I have read because she is so tough.  She is her own person and doesn’t let anyone dictate what she should and shouldn’t do!  She might be in love with Bones, a strong-willed and powerful vampire, but she is still an independent woman and puts her foot down on issues that she is passionate about!

The best part of this book by far was the very end…which I won’t give anything away…I just have to say that I kept seeing that there were only a few pages left and I felt like there was so much more that Jeaniene should be writing.  I was afraid that she was going to end the book with a cliff hanger or that she wasn’t going to elaborate enough and it was going to end abruptly and I was going to be disappointed.  In the end though, I felt fulfilled when I finished this book.  Jeaniene is such an amazing author and she did such a great job that it was short, sweet and to the point and it left me wanting to start the next book immediately!

My only other comment is this book makes me want to read The First Drop of Crimson a second time that much more because it showed more of Denise and Spade and their history that I think the book will make a little bit more sense.  These books might be able to be read seperatly but I really think reading them in a particular order really helps keep those emotional attachments to the characters set in stone and helps you really get into the books!

2 responses to “At Grave’s End – Jeaniene Frost (Night Huntress #3)

  1. Jeaniene is a wonderful author. I’m glad she got the okay to write 9 books in the series instead of just 7. And, she’s going to be writing a series with Vlad as the hero. Love him! Nice review Deanna!

  2. Julie – I am so very happy to hear that Jeaniene will be writing 9 books for the series of Bones and Cat (I think that’s what you meant by that). And Vlad is awesome so it will be exciting to see the spin off she does on that! I’m also curious to see if she writes more on Spade and Denise or if The First Drop of Crimson is supposed to be a one-book spin off…I guess we’ll just have to wait and see! 😀

Leave a Reply

