Destined for an Early Grave – Jeaniene Frost (Night Huntress #4)

Paranormal Romance
Hastings Book Store
Paperback
$7.99
400 Pages
Publisher: Avon
July 28, 2009


(6/5 Stars)

Back of the Book Description:
Since half-vampire Cat Crawfield and her undead lover Bones met six years ago, They’ve fought against the rogue undead, battled a vengeful Master vampire, and pledged their devotion with a blood bond.  Now it’s time for a vacation.  But their hopes for a perfect Paris holiday are dashed when Cat awakes on one night in terror.  She’s having visions of a vampire named Gregor who’s more powerful than Bones and has ties to her past that even Cat herself didn’t know about.

Gregor believes Cat is his and he won’t stop until he has her.  As the battle begins between the vamp who haunts her nightmares and the one who holds her heart, only Cat can break Gregor’s hold over her.  She’ll need all the power she can summon in order to bring down the baddest bloodsucker she’s ever faced…even if getting that power will result in the early grave.

My favorite Quotes:
“God he looked good, but I needed to slam the lid on my dirty mind and seek other things to think about. Farm equipment. Agriculture. The state of the economy.” ~ Cat

What happened?” I asked (~Cat)
“You bit me,” Bones said.
“Huh?”

This was by far, hands down, totally and completely my favorite book of the night huntress series!!!!!  No questions asked…well you can ask questions if you want!  🙂  I couldn’t put this book down!  I read it in one day (even when I should have been doing school work, oops!)  So much happened in this book that you just needed to know, with a passion, what was going to happen next.  So much made me mad, and sad and then happy!  You’re emotions go through the ringer on this one…and I must INSIST that you read the first 3 books before you ever even think about picking this book up!!!!

The book starts out with Bones and Cat finally being able to take a romantic vacation just the two of them to get away from EVERYTHING when Cat starts having some vivid dreams that seem so real that involve another man.  She knows that she has seen this man before but she can’t remember where or why.  She finds out that he is a dreamsnatcher from her past that wants to “re-claim” her as his own.

Things seem to spiral out of control in the book while Gregor is trying to take Cat and this causes Bones and Cat to seem to fall away from each other.  Cat’s world seems to crumble apart!  I can’t go into too much detail but there is really so much that happens in this book that my mind just couldn’t stop thinking!  I would take a break to eat or something and have to run through my mind all that was going on.  Bones and Cat fighting was the worst on me since I have bonded with both of their characters and in my mind they shouldn’t be fighting they should just love each other forever and always!! (I’m a hopeless romantic what I can I say?!)

I will say I was very irritated once Cat finally remembered Gregor from her past…he is a complete and utter Jerk (and that is putting it the nice way)!  I just wanted to jump through the book into this world and kick the crap out of him and smack some sense into Cat!!!!  I really hope others feel the same about him as me!

We met a few new characters in this book and also were able to receive even more information on some old ones!
New: Gregor – Complete ass!  Fabian – Has become one of my FAVORITE characters!  So very loyal. Geri – Cat’s replacement…even though we only get to meet her for a short bit in this book I hope to see more of her later! Cannelle – Can I kill her??  Please??!!

Old: Vlad – he stuck out the most as a character we have seen before but really got to know better in this book!  I’m happy to see someone who isn’t attracted to Cat for once and just wants to be her loyal friend!  Tate – his infatuation with Cat is going to get him killed one of these days, and I honestly don’t want to see that happen no matter how mad I may get at him.

I’m sure this is a terrible review but I am new at this and I’m so worried that if I get into telling you what I really REALLY want to that I’ll give everything away!!!!!!!  Just know that this is an amazing, MUST read!  Maybe we can do a discussion on these books before the 5th one comes out in February…that way we can all talk about our thoughts and feelings throughout the books!

2 responses to “Destined for an Early Grave – Jeaniene Frost (Night Huntress #4)

  1. Fantastic Review Deanna! And I agree with everything you said…but the first book is still my favorite. LOVE Vlad and you’re right, Tate has to start watching himself because he will get into quite the pickle otherwise. I’m so stoked that there are going to be 2 books in this series next year! (At least, that’s the plan)

  2. I’m glad you thought my review was good Julie…It’s so hard to figure out what you should or should not wirte on these things, especially when you love the book so much! Haha. Isn’t Jeaniene going to be coming out with a book about Vlad?! I think that would be amazing to read! 2 books next year is AWESOME! 🙂

Leave a Reply

