Bloodfever – Karen Marie Moning (Fever Series #2)

Urban Fantasy
Hastings Book Store
Paperback
$7.99
368 pages
Publisher: Dell
August 26, 2008


(4 Stars)

Back of Book Description:
In her fight to stay alive, MacKayla must find the Sinsar Dubh – a million-year-old book of the blackest magic imaginable, which holds the key to the power over the worlds of both the Fae and Man.  Pursued by assassins, surrounded by mysterious figures she knows she can’t trust, Mac finds herself torn between two deadly and powerful men: V’lane, the immortal Fae Prince, and Jericho Barrons, a man as irresistible as he is dangerous.
For centuries the shadowy realm of the Fae has coexisted with that of humans.  Now the walls between the two are coming down, and Mac is the only thing that stands between them.

When I first started to read Bloodfever, the second book in the Fever Series, by Karen Marie Moning I was thinking I would just give it a 3.5 star rating.  It was a little better than the first one since you start to get to know the characters even better than the first one, that’s a no brainer right?!  But it was the truth for me.  Then I just hit this one spot of the book and I didn’t want to stop reading it just picked up in speed and intensity and you just had to know what was next!

Who was the dark figure Mac keeps seeing?  Who is this Christian who just pops up in the book? Who should Mac trust?  Why is that happening?  Why is she doing that!?  What is HE doing this?!  Seriously, all these questions keep coming and you can’t help but continue to read and get more involved in the book!

Mac is now starting to understand that her life is changing and she is shaping into a different person then her sweet as pie self from before she ever left Georgia.  She is starting to know more about this new life of hers and the Fae…just not enough.  After her father makes a trip to Dublin to bring her home and reveals more about her life as a child and secrets that her parents have kept hidden, she realizes that no matter what, she must stay in Dublin to finish what she was born to do.

Barrons is still the mysterious and dangerous man that he was in the last book.  Not letting any information out that he absolutely does not have to let Mac know.  It is frustrating for her and it is frustrating for me!  😛  I want to know more about this Barrons and why he is keeping things so hidden.  We know that he is not a sidhe-seer but we also assume that he is not human!  I have different thoughts pop into my head on what IIIIII think he is, but there are so many new supernatural beings in this series that I have never even heard of that maybe by some crazy twist he will be another unknown supernatural being!  He has finally hit the dark, dangerous, SEXY man for me!  I didn’t think this would ever come…but there is still so much missing and, like Mac, I don’t want to let my guard down.  (Man I get way into my reading, LOL).

The biggest questions that arise: who should Mac trust: Barrons? V’lane? Christian? Rowena? Anyone? What other supernatural beings are out there that we haven’t been introduced to? Who has this Sinsar Dubh dark book that keeps popping up in the books? Who killed Mac’s sister (since I am not 100% sure like Mac seems to be)? Why can’t Barrons and Mac just “do it” already (Tehehe)?  Ok so the last one isn’t that big of a question but I thought I’d at least throw it in there!

I would recommend this book series to all those out there that enjoy the supernatural side of the world.  My only caution would be that if you do not completely get into the first book and you’re unsure of your feelings, then KEEP READING!  You will not be disappointed in the second book…except that it ends and you NEED to start the next one!  Thank you Julie for giving me that little push to keep reading because it was well worth it!

Today, after sleep, I will begin reading the next book, Faefever, and hope that some, if not all (*crossing fingers*), my questions will be answered. I am also going to start updating my blog on a regular basis with favorite quotes from the books that I’m reading…adding some of them to this seems to make it too long!

2 responses to “Bloodfever – Karen Marie Moning (Fever Series #2)

  1. Yippee! She liked it!!! Isn’t the ending awesome?!
    And I love the idea of you sharing some of your favorite quotes on your blog. Great idea!

  2. I’ve been seeing Moning’s series all over the place on my blog/book explorations online recently. I’d never heard of her her until about two weeks ago, and now all of a sudden…I’m seeing her name everywhere I look, it seems.

    Thanks for the review! I’ll be looking at this series more seriously now.

Leave a Reply

