Faefever – Karen Marie Moning (Fever Series #3)


Genre: Urban Fantacy
Source: Purchased from Hastings
Paperback
Price: $7.99
416 pages
Publisher: Dell
Copyright Date: 2008


(4 Stars)

Back of Book Description:
When MacKayla Lane receives a page torn from her dead sister’s journal, she is stunned by Alina’s desperate words.  And now MacKayla knows that her sister’s killer is close.  But evil is closer.  And suddenly the sidhe-seer is on the hunt: For answers.  For revenge.  And for an ancient book of dark magic so evil that it corrupts anyone who touches it.
Mac’s quest for the Sinsar Dubh takes her into the mean, shapeshifting streets of Dublin, with a suspicious cop on her tail.  Forced into dangerous triangle of alliance with V’lane, a lethal Fae prince, and Jericho Barrons, a man of deadly secrets, Mac is soon locked in a battle for her body, mind and soul.

Faefever did not disappoint being the third instalment in Karen Marie Moning’s Fever Series.  This is by far the most intense of the first three books and it keeps you on your toes from beginning to end.  Karen does a great job of bringing us closer to understanding the world around Mac and what she is thinking and feeling while trying to understand her new self in the middle of all the chaos.  The entire book you battle with who Mac should be trusting, who is using her, who is deceiving her?! 

V’lane seems to be trying his hardest to win Mac over to his side by giving her the ability to call him when she needs him. (He puts his calling card on her tounge by kissing her, slightly hot.)  We are reminded several times that V’lane only does things that will benefit him  and does not have a worry about anyone else.  Then there is Barrons, oh that dark and handsome Barrons.  It is so hard for Mac to understand what she is feeling for him yet can she trust him?  Should she trust him?  We know that she has strong feelings for him in the sexual area, but does he?  Does he really care about her other than the fact that she can sense his OOP’s (Objects of Power)?  Then we come to Rowena…she is a piece of work.  The leader of the other sidhe-seers in Dublin she has done nothing but turn Mac away and try to control Mac like her other followers.  There is something about Rowena that just doesn’t rub me the right way.  She seems to be hiding something and she has a grudge against Mac without having any real interactive experience with her.  Throughout the entire book Rowena is trying to convince her 700+ sidhe-seer followers not to trust Mac.  I don’t understand why she won’t try to help Mac, especially when Mac is so new to knowing she is a sidhe-seer.  Christian is still as handsome as ever, I don’t have any reservations against him.  I think he has good intentions with Mac and that she can trust him…plus it’s nice that she has someone who understands this new/secret world who she can talk to and learn from.

On top of all the confusion that Mac is under with the people around her she is receiving anonymous letters with snippets from her sisters journal, the same journal she was trying so hard to find in the first book.  These journal entries show glimpses of what Alina was going through and feeling while she was in Dublin, they show Mac what Alina was hiding from her every time they talked on the phone before she ever had her eyes opened to this new life.  By reading her sisters journal entries the words rip through Mac with such raw emotion that sometimes it’s hard, for me the reader, to read. 

The end of the book was about the point I couldn’t put the book down.  I didn’t want to stop reading, I had to know what was going to come next.  You know it is leading up to something horrible, that all the events that are occurring at such a fast rate are coming to that moment that you have to sit there once your done and sort everything out.  You must let everything absorb in your mind…take a few deep breaths…and absorb some more.  Lets just say the ending leaves you with several questions and so many thoughts and feelings (anger and confusion mainly).  I’m very glad that I did not read these books the first time they came out because I would drive myself crazy pulling my hair out!

I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys Urban Fantasy books.  I would NEVER EVER EVER recommend this as a stand alone book!  If you find this interesting then please start at the first book Darkfever!

The last thing I have to say is THANK YOU SO MUCH to Karen who makes sure to write a note to the reader at the end.  It ends at such a dark place that without that note I wouldn’t have remembered the foreshadowing she started at the beginning of the books!

Fever Series:
Darkfever
Bloodfever
Faefever
Dreamfever
Shadowfever (January 18,2011)

13 responses to “Faefever – Karen Marie Moning (Fever Series #3)

  1. I finished this book a couple of nights ago and couldn’t sleep!! I couldn’t believe it ended the way it did. KMM really knows how to put her reader through an emotional ringer.

  2. Jen – I completely agree with that statement!!!! Have you started Dreamfever yet?? Julie kept telling me she remembers chapter 4 the most…yeah I just finished it and understand why now…I’m pretty sure it’s going to be the one chapter, in particular, I remember out of all of the books!

  3. No I haven’t! I only work half a day today so I think I’ll get started on it today. I remember Julie mentioning Chapter 4. I need to get on this stat!

  4. Jen – I hope you enjoyed your half day at work! I also hope you started Dreamfever! Whatever you do…at least get through chapter 4, well I know when you get there you won’t be able to stop reading. I read through it last night and didn’t realize I was so tired until after I finished the chapter. LOL…

  5. Hi Deanna. Best part of my day was knowing that I only had to work half of it. =) I will definitely be starting Dreamfever tonight. I can’t wait anymore. I have to see what happens! Aside from chapter 4 I hear this book has one hell of a cliffhanger. I’m almost afraid. LOL!

    Just out of curiousity….are you on Twitter?

  6. I’ve heard that too…eek! I can’t wait to keep reading it and I’m hoping to get to the end soon!

    Yes I am on twitter, my user name thingy is deannalynncox. What is yours?

  7. I’m @NotNowImReading. Just added you. =)

  8. Ooo Deanna! You’re on twitter?! I didn’t know and now I do and I’m totally going to find you and follow you! :p
    I was super grateful for Karen’s message at the end of the book too. We needed a little reassurance after the ride we go through after reading it!
    Oh, and Jen D. is super nice and is awesome!
    Nice review (as usual) Deanna and Merry Christmas!

  9. Aww..thanks Julie. You’re pretty awesome yourself. =D

  10. Haha, you are both pretty darn awesome in my book! Thanks so much for taking your time to read my blog, I do appreciate it alot! 😀 We can all be twitter friends, EXCITING!

  11. You’re very welcome. Besides us bloggers / Fever series junkies / Twitter friends need to stick together, right? 😀

  12. It’s true Jen, we really do have to stick together! Althought, since being so new to this book blogging community, I never would have through there were so many people out there with a passion for books like me!

  13. Good thing you have here! I actually love how it is easy on my eyes as well as the details are well composed. I am wondering how I could be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your rss feed which really should work! Have a good day!

Leave a Reply

