Shadowfever – Karen Marie Moning (Fever Series #5)

Urban Fantasy
Target
Hard Back
$18.00
595 Pages
Delacorte Press
January 18, 2011


6/5 Stars

Favorite Quotes: “Thank you,” I said softly.  He was always protecting me and mine. God, I sucked.

“Never.  I’m the one who will always watch over you.  Always be there to fuck you back to your senses when you need it, the one who will never let you die.”

Book Description:
MacKayla Lane was just a child when she and her sister, Alina, were given up for adoption and banished from Ireland forever.
Twenty years later, Alina is dead and Mac has returned to the country that expelled them to hunt her sister’s murderer.  But after discovering that she descends from a bloodline both gifted and cursed, Mac is plunged into a secret history: an ancient conflict between humans and immortals who have lved concealed among us for thousands of years.
What follows is a shocking chain of events with devastating consequences, and now Mac struggles to cope with grief while continuing her mission to acquire and control the Sinsar Dubh – a book of dark, forbidden magic scribed by the mythical Unseelie King, containing the power to create and destroy worlds.
An epic battle between humans and Fae, the hunter becomes the hunted when the Sinsar Dubh turns on Mac and begins mowing a deadly path through those she loves.
Who can she turn to? Who can she trust? Who is the woman haunting her dreams? More important, who is Mac and what is the destiny she glimpses in the black and crimson designs of an ancient tarot card?
From the luxury of the Lord Master’s penthouse to the sordid depths of an Unseelie night club, from the erotic bed of her lover to the terrifying bed of the Unseelie King, Mac’s journey will force her to face the truth of her exile, and to make a choice that will either save the world…or destroy it.

All of the “WOW”‘s that I kept seeing throughout twitter and others blogs are completely right!!!! This was an amazing book and I wanted to finish it the day it came out, too bad I couldn’t pull that off!

This is the 5th and final book in the MacKayla Lane/Fever Series and I, like many others, couldn’t figure out how all of the questions that were turned up in the first 4 books were going to be answered in one book!  Moning does an amazing job of answering all of our questions plus putting major twists and turns in that are…a) not confusing and b) still resolved in the end.

I was pulling my hair out as soon as I finished Dreamfever, along with everyone else, since it left us off with such a huge cliffhanger.  I normally hate books that leave you like that because, most of the time, the next book really isn’t that great.  They leave you with a cliffhanger so you pick up the next one and then you are extremely disappointed…this was NOT, I repeat, NOT the case!  Shadowfever lived up to my expectations and then exceeded them!

The characters and story lines in this book were amazing and well throughout.  I loved the raw emotion that you get from Barrons that you only saw glimpses of throughout the series.  I loved how Mac finally became the woman I was hoping she would become.  I enjoyed how so many of the side characters almost became main characters.  I enjoyed how so many of our questions are answered in ways that we NEVER had even thought about…that only made sense when Moning put the pieces together.  I just LOVED the book as a whole.

As a final book of a series I think this one has to be at the top of my list.  Again, it was so well written that it left no stone unturned.  It really tied all the strings together and put all the pieces of the puzzle in place to create a masterpiece. 

I will be writing a series review tomorrow to talk about the whole series and why EVERYONE who loves Urban Fantasy should read it! But until then…if you have not started this series go to the store or get on your Kindle RIGHT now and buy Darkfever and start reading!

The Fever Series:
Darkfever
Bloodfever
Faefever
Dreamfever
Shadowfever

8 responses to “Shadowfever – Karen Marie Moning (Fever Series #5)

  1. Lovely review Deanna. And spot on!

  2. How many times have I said “wow” when I’ve thought of this book??? SO GREAT. So glad you liked it!

  3. Thanks Mandi! I am still working on writting better reviews, this one is pretty short with how amazing the book was!

  4. If all I could write was a one word review, it would just say “wow”. But “wow” can be taken as good or bad. But this was beyond good. So incredible, there isn’t a word for it yet. Some of the twists still have my head spinning. Really loved the review hon, exactly what I thought. Definitely with Julie, it was spot on. Thank you for the post 🙂

  5. Diana – thanks so much for your wonderful comment! It was hard to describe this book because it was just that amazing. I love books and movies that can really throw me off track so I can’t really guess anything beause no matter what I’m going to be wrong and that is what this book did to me! Fantastic. 😀

  6. “I enjoyed how so many of the side characters almost became main characters.”

    Me too! This installment really was so different/new from the others. And 6/5 stars..that’s cheating 😉

  7. Jess – I know 6/5 stars is cheating…but I just couldn’t help it. If the book exceeds my expectations and I can’t stop thinking about it for weeks and weeks it’s gotta be better than just a 5 right?! 😛

    I still can’t believe how well this book was written, I’m baffled and can’t wait to re-read the series to catch all the things I missed the first time around!

Leave a Reply

