News – Sookie Stackhouse Read-a-Long

Since the 11th Sookie Stackhouse Novel by Charlaine Harris is being released in May and her fans have been waiting a YEAR for it’s release I started to think that I should re-read all of the books.  With 10 Novels out and a HBO show that spins off the books, I decided I needed a refresher of everything that has happened in the books and remember which books they happened in. Jen D found out what I was thinking about doing and the next thing we knew we decided to host discussions so we cold share ideas, things we loved and things that disappointed us.

Starting the week of February 20 – 27 Jen D and I will start hosting a Sookie Stackhouse Read-a-Long with discussion.  The basics are every week from The last week of Feburary till the last week of April (10 weeks) we will read one of the books and then have a discussion on either the Saturday or Sunday (depending on what the majority of participants think works best). 5 discussions will be held here, on my blog, and 5 will be held on Jen’s blog.

The first book is Dead Until Dark (pictured above) so get it out from the back of your book shelf, buy it at your local Target (or other store with books) or purchase it on the kindle and get ready for a fun read-a-long and the first discussion on either Feb 26th or 27!

More details to come soon!  🙂

11 responses to “News – Sookie Stackhouse Read-a-Long

  1. Woohoo! The read along feels official now! =)

  2. Oooh, this sounds like a lot of fun. I love Harris’s stuff even though the last one was disappointing for me. But can’t wait to hear more. Thanks you two. This is awesome 🙂

  3. Jen D – I know I’m so excited! 🙂 Now we just have to spread the word, work out the details, and then just do it! 😀

    Diana – Thanks so much for reading the post! Jen and I are both very very excited about this. I agree that the last one was a bit disappointing but hopefully the 11th one will make up for that! We both hope to see you through the discussions as they come. 🙂

  4. What a fun idea you guys! I wish I could take part…I’m just too swamped. 😦 But I’ll pimp it for you for sure!

  5. @Jen D. – It is nice when things feel so official. Gets more real. So excited for you guys throwing this. Will be great.

    @deannalynnc – Glad I am not the only one that felt that way about the last one. I gave it 2 out of 5 stars here: http://offbeatvagabond.blogspot.com/2010/10/charlaine-harris-dead-in-family-sookie.html

    @Julie – I know, I am swamped to, but I am going to try my best too. Everything still feels fresh too, which will help a bit since I rented all the books.

  6. I haven’t read any of the Sookie books, but I LOVE the show. It’s the one TV program my husband and I both anticipate highly.

  7. Diana – I will definitly have to check your review out. I hope that you can make it to some of the discussions…I bought all the books from Target because it was cheaper there and they had the original covers. The 10th book I bought Kindle but April should bring about the paperback copie of that book.

    Barbara – I have watched the show and finally got into it. I have to look at the books and the show as two different things because the show does spin-off the books a lot. But I enjoy them both and I do love the books. Maybe you should try out the first one just to see what you think! 🙂

  8. I would love to do this with you guys… but I may only get to the first one. LOL. I barely read more than one book per week as it is so I just don’t see myself reading straight through all the books that fast. But I’ll see what I can do for the first one, at least.

  9. Christine – I’d love it if you could make it to the first discussion. If you remember the books ok then you are still more than welcome to stop by all the discussions to give a little input. I know we will do a sum-up of the book as well as discussion questions which could refresh your mind on what happened in each book.

  10. Oh I haven’t read any of the Sookie books yet. I happen to have the first 6 or so in paperback on my TBR shelf… bought them ages ago. Same old story. Too many books, not enough time. I’ll try to do the first book though. We’ll see. 🙂

  11. Oh ok, I miss understood somewhere a long the way! I hope you will be able to join us for one or two of the discussions. These books are pretty fast reads. They aren’t very long so they read more like the monthly harlequin romance novels that come out.

Leave a Reply

