Weekly Update: Jan 30 – Feb 5

Well this was not the best week in the world, but I can’t say it was my worst either.  Had a few ups and downs and a little blog neglecting to boot! *Head meet desk*.  But I do have a good schedule set on the next few books I’m going to read AAAAAAND Jen and I will probably have more details set for the Sookie Stackhouse Read-along!No tutor for my Intro to Organic and Biochem class available through the school so now I am in search of one on my own.  😦  I will have to start making lots of calls and posting some flyers.  My first test is Monday and I’m screwed! Hopefully I’ll find a tutor soon before the other 6 tests come around. *Crossing Fingers*

Reading wise this week I finished Mistress of Pleasure by Delilah Marvelle, I will have the review up Tuesday (since I didn’t post one Yesterday).  I then proceeded to start reading 3, yes THREE, different books! The Guy Next Door by Lori Foster (Romance), Dark Lover by J.R. Ward (UF? or PNR?), and Lord of Pleasure by Delilah Marvelle (Historical Romance).

The Guy Next Door by Lori Foster: I received from netGalley to review…I really need to get this review done so it is top priority for me right now.  I’m really enjoying the beginning right now since it starts off a bit different then most romance novels I read.  Normally the main Man and Woman don’t know each other at first, then they meet and somehow fall in love with each other.  Well, when you start this one off they already know each other and they are already having sex but no love…yet.  So we’ll see how the end goes.

Dark Lover by J.R. Ward: I have heard almost everyone of my blog friends talk about the Black Dagger Brotherhood (BDB) as well as a friend from college.  So I went out a while back and bought the entire series that is out in stores.  They have been sitting on my shelf for a few months and with the release of the next book in the series coming next month I want to read all the series before then so I can be in on the discussions as people read the latest book!  I am excited to get this one read and kick off the series, but it’s going to have to be put aside for maybe one week.

Lord of Pleasure by Delilah Marvelle (by far my favorite author right now) is her 2nd, and last, book in The School of Gallentry series.  I am excited to get this one read since it is the last book she has out that I have not read. I also have a few questions for her but I want to wait till I’m done with this to ask her.  So this is moved to position 2 in my reading list at the moment.

For this next week:
Sunday: Super bowl…nothing exciting…just who I’m going for and why…

Monday: Some Fun for the Week to make you smile (and me)
Tuesday: Review – Mistress of Pleasure by Delilah Marvelle
Wednesday: News Update (not sure what yet)
Thursday: School/Career Update
Friday: Review: The Guy Next Door by Lori Foster
Saturday: Another Weekly Update

8 responses to “Weekly Update: Jan 30 – Feb 5

  1. I really need to read a Delilah Marvelle. I keep hearing great things.

    Sorry you had some downs last week. Hope next week is better. xoxo

  2. I hope you can find someone to tutor you soon. There’s nothing worst than feeling lost in your classes! Yikes!
    BDB is a PNR because each book holds a HEA for the hero and heroine of that book. So even though you are immersed in a world of crap, at least you know there will be love at the end of the book. 🙂 I hope you’ll enjoy them since you already have the books!
    Happy Weekend Deanna!

  3. FV – Thanks for swinging but the site! Delilah is fabulous and I do enjoy all of her books. Her next series won’t come out until next year so now I get to re-read the 5 books she has out now until then. LOL.

    Julie – I do hope I like the BDB…of course with how many of my friends who really enjoy them I am sure that I will too. Kinda like the Fever Series! 😀 Happy weekend to you too Julie!

  4. I had a tough week, too. Here’s hoping next week is better. 🙂

    I can’t wait for you to read the BDB. Julie is right. The series IS PNR. Obviously so for the first four books, but as the world and characters are so developed by book five and higher, sometimes the books “read” more like UF… but even then, the books are still PNR because there’s a definite HEA for the couple. Just a lot of other stuff going on, too. More fun! 😉

  5. Haven’t read from any of the authors on your list except J. R. Ward. I am not a straight up romance kind of reader. Still sounds like a good week for you so far hon. Really happy you are getting into the BDB. It gets even more intense and messed up the more you go, but trust me, it is worth it, just like @julie said. Hope your weekend was great hon 🙂

  6. Christine – I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t have a very good week either! Hopefully next week IS better for both of us! I am excited about the BDB especially the more I see everyone get so hyped up over it! What the heck does HEA stand for?? Hot Erotic Action??!! LMAO, that was the only thing I could come up with.

    Diana – My weekend was pretty good, just a lot of work and now I am completely tired and need to go to bed. I am so excited for the BDB books and can’t wait to fully devote some time to them! 🙂

  7. LOLOL!! Sorry about that… HEA stands for ‘happily ever after’ for the couple in the story. By unofficial definition, I suppose, a romance novel always ends with the couple together. As opposed to an urban fantasy series such as the Fever series in which the romance –if there even is any–takes a back seat so to speak to the conflicts and action of the story. In the case of the BDB, however…. HEA can also stand for ‘Hot Erotic Action’!! LOL! 😉

  8. HAHA! Oh wow, Happily Ever After is a whole lot different than Hot Erotic Action! 😛 Oops. Thanks so much for explaining that to me! I really appreciate it and now I’ll understand what everyone is talking about when HEA comes up in conversation and blog posts!

Leave a Reply

