Weekly Update – Feb 6-12

Well this week was very slow for me in the reading world!  I was behind on blogs and behind on what I was hoping to read.  Hopefully next week will be a bit different for me.  School is starting to pick up like crazy so I need to start scheduling in everything I want to do including school work, blog reading, reading and working out…

Last week I got through two of the three short stories/novellas in The Guy Next Door featuring Lori Foster, Susan Donovan and Victoria Dahl.  This is my first official anthology read and it’s been interesting.  I like it that you can get a story in such a short read so I’m excited to get Victoria Dahl’s story read so I can post my review. I then plan on picking up Lipstick on His Collar by Inez Kelley next and getting that review done for this coming week as well.  *Fingers Crossed*

I have a big/hard test coming up in Anatomy and Physiology on Tuesday so I plan on getting the majority of my posts written sometime this week so that I can focus on that test and trying to keep up with some reading…we’ll see.  School comes first and I need to get in, and stay in, that mind-set.

The biggest news/weekly update for me this week is that I’ve decided to turn my blog into a book and movie review blog. I love reading and I love watching movies! One of my coworkers at my consulting job calls me his “go-to movie person” because I love watching movies so much.  If you couldn’t tell by this post, I’ll just say it plain and simple. I LOVE MOVIES! So I plan on starting those reviews with The Eagle starring Channing Tatum and Jamie Bell.  (**Going to try to work on a cool button for this, I’ve honestly never made a picture/button so I’m not really sure what I’m doing but I’m going to try**)

I must make a confession, I take myself to movies. Yes, I go to the movies, buy my ticket, buy a box of Sour Jacks and go sit in the big movie theater by myself and watch a movie.  I do enjoy going with people but sometimes it’s a nice get-away.  I can go to the movie, not worry about entertaining anyone before the movie starts and when it’s over, I get to walk out with only my thoughts to ponder what happened in the movie.  It’s fabulous!  If you like to have your time alone every once in a while, I highly suggest trying this out!

As for this coming weeks schedule, it will go something like this:
Sunday: Movie Review – The Eagle
Monday: Some Fun for the Week, Valentine edition
Tuesday: Book Review – The Guy Next Door
Wednesday: Sookie Stackhouse Update/Reminder for Read-Along
Thursday: School/Career Update
Friday: Book Review – Lipstick on His Collar (maybe)
Saturday: Weekly Update

8 responses to “Weekly Update – Feb 6-12

  1. All alone, I so wish I could do it, but I am not brave enough 😦 So I have always forced someone to come with me 😉

  2. Haha, yep all alone. I started back in high school when the Lord of the Rings movies first came out. I went to all three of them by myself and I enjoyed it so much I do it every once in a while just so I can treat myself. 🙂 I’m sure the people you force to go always enjoy it! 😉

  3. I go to the movies every other weekend or so. I love the smell of freshly popped popcorn even though I don’t eat it much especially at the movies. They purposely add so much salt just so you have to buy a drink (BOO!) But I go by myself or with my mom and sister. Either way, I am by myself, I have different tastes to them. I can’t force them to see anything I like. I can’t tell you how many times now that I’ve told them to watch the Social Network. The movie is amazing and they won’t listen to me and both of them are Facebook addicts, I’d at least expect to them to appreciate it LOL!

    @blodeuedd – Why not go by yourself? There is nothing bad about that. You should try it.

    @deannalynnc – Oh I love the Lord of the Rings trilogy. Favorite times in high school. Oh and since I know you like wrestling too, the last LOTR film played in my city the same day WWE was here and everyone talked about seeing John Cena in our theater. ‘Til this day I still regret not going to the midnight showing :(. Nonetheless, can’t wait for the Eagle review, I still am not sure what the film is totally about, so I really want to know.

    Ok stopping here, this is turning into a book. Great post hon, thank you 🙂

  4. Diana – LOL, I write books on your blog so I have no problem with you writing so much on mine! 🙂 I have not seen the Social Network movie yet but it is on my list of must sees! I will check it out soon I hope. I can completely understand you regretting not going to the midnight showing with all the talk of John Cena being there! Man, I would have regretted that too. I will explain the story line much better in my review for The Eagle because I wasn’t sure what it was about either until I watched it. The only drive I had to watch it was because of the two leading actors that I like…well I really LOVE Jamie Bell from jumper and you can never go wrong with Channing Tatum. 😛

  5. @Deannalynnc – I know, I love your books, but still, need to give you time to catch your breath LOL! The Social Network was fantastic. I will be pissed as hell if it doesn’t win some Oscars.

    Like I said, I still hate that I let that happen. Missing my chance, I hope I get another chance to meet Cena.

    Good, I want to know. I am so with you, Jamie Bell and Channing Tatum are the only reasons I am interested. Tatum is not my favorite actor, but he is hot and I love Bell, just hated Jumper. Bell should have been the main character in that movie, he has more personality.

  6. Diana – COMPLETELY AGREE! Jamie Bell does have more personality than Hayden Christensen. I’ve never been impressed with Hayden…he’s nice to look at but that’s really it! He’s a terrible Actor.

    I hope you get a chance to meet Cena one of these days too! I’d love to go to WWE performance. I almost did last year but it was scheduled to be a Raw performance, which I was so excited about, then something happened and they switched it to a Smackdown performance. I really only watch Raw religiously so I decided to get my money back. Maybe one of these days!

    With all the talk that went with The Social Network I’d be really surprised if it doesn’t win some Oscars. How did Justin Timberlake do in that movie??

  7. I used to go to the show by myself all the time! I loved it! I miss it! I’d sit in the same seat, eat the same snack and not care. I’d go once a week! That was loads of fun.

  8. Julie – I’m so glad that I’m not alone! I do the same snack thing not always the same seat but going to a movie by yourself is always refreshing! You should see if you can have a little more “me” time and do it again every once in a while. You work hard with all those kids I know you deserve it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

