I am Number Four – 2011

-Rated PG-13
-Theater Release: Feb 18, 2011
-Directed By: DJ Caruso
-Starring: Alex Pettyfer, Timothy Olyphant and Dianna Agron
IMDb (6.1/10 rating): “John is an extraordinary teen, masking his true identity and passing as a typical high school student to elude a deadly enemy seeking to destroy him. Three like him have already been killed … he is Number Four.”

5/5 Stars

The Plot (basically): You find out right up front that there are 9 kids from another planet who were chosen to save their planet, the problem was their planet was attacked sooner than expected (when they were all still babies) and destroyed, killing almost everyone. Now the people who destroyed their planet have figured out they are on earth and are looking to kill each of the 9. Number 4 is the next on the list and we follow him and find out that his entire life has been built around changing locations and identity constantly, hoping that he will not be found.  His newest move turns into a place that he wants to call home because of a girl he meets and a friend he makes…

My Thoughts: I don’t want to go into to much detail in the plot because it was fun having the events unfold that I didn’t know about.  I really enjoyed this movie.  I am glad that I let the previews/trailers talk me into watching this.

The first thing that really impressed me was the acting!  All of the actors are very good and I didn’t have any moments where I thought, “oh man, that was a stale line!” Alex Pettyfer amazed me! He hasn’t been in very many movies and yet his acting was amazing.  He is also very nice to look at (even though he’s like 20-yrs-old, that’s only 4ish years younger than me…not too bad right?! :-P).  The side characters are also amazing, I haven’t even heard of a few of them and yet they did an amazing job.  The Mogadorian’s (the bad guys) were an interesting bunch…and I couldn’t help but laugh at their appearance and the way they talked a couple times, but I think they are in there for comic relief at points (even though they are the bad ones).

The second thing that impressed me was that the action and special effects were very good and believable…when the light is shooting out of his hands I actually was trying to figure out how a computer would make that look so real. The computer animated animals reminded me of how the troll or dragons from Harry Potter looked, you could tell they weren’t real…yet they were done so well that they could have almost been completely real.  Does that make any sense?

My favorite character, besides hottie number 4 (John), was his new found friend Sam. Keep your eyes out for him, you can’t really miss him, he is an outcast at the school but has a funny sense of humor. I really enjoyed him being in the movie.

The end of the movie doesn’t leave you on a cliffhanger, which I liked, but it did leave it open to have a second movie.  Normally this disappoints me since so many movies should really stop at the first one, but this was a movie that I would really love to see a second too.  I just hope they keep the same actors/actresses for the characters and keep up the awesome special effects!

All-in-All: There might have been a few slow parts, but they didn’t drag…they were a way to get you from point A to B to C and the acting and action are top notch.  If you enjoy paranormal stuff like Superman, aliens, super powers, and crazy fight scenes you should check this out!  I will be buying this and adding it to my DVD collection as soon as it is released!

**Side Note – Why do there have to be so many types of characters (vampires, shifters, aliens, etc…) that have the internal set up to meet their “mate/other half” and be with them forever without question.  I like this quality…maybe it’s another one of those fantasy things that all us women want a man to be like and that’s why it’s every where??!!  Any thoughts on this? -End Side Note**

14 responses to “I am Number Four – 2011

  1. Great review! This is coming out in the UK soon and I’m trying to make my guy, Ryan go with me. Maybe the comical aspect might work for him!

    • Thanks! I would recommend it for sure! It does have quite a few funny parts that had the whole theater laughing. Plus if he likes action at all the fight scenes are awesome and the powers that number four and number six have are just amazing! Number six is a kick ass chick, just awesomeness! 😀

  2. My husband pointed out this trailer to me a few weeks ago. This movie looks SO good! I’m glad you enjoyed it, and understand you not wanting to give too much away. My kids are staying by my sister for the week they have off from school, so I definitely think the hubby and I are going to see this one 😉

  3. LOL! I agree wit your “side note”, as well! I TOTALLY dig that quality 😀

    • Glad I’m not the only one! LOL. I know that people get married and stay together forever, but there is also so much cheating out there (I know, not by everyone). But still these fantasy characters have their mate for life and once they find them they don’t look anywhere else, no cheating, no mess, just love and a few spats/arguments like everyone. LOL. Maybe this is why I’m still single after 2 years…

  4. I guess we all want to know that the one we are with really is meant for us, I do like that idea 🙂

    • Haha, that and there has been so much cheating now in society…with these characters they find their mate and they are done…no questions, no flirting with other people, no wanting to venture to someone else…they are finally complete and satisfied. Of course, maybe I’ll find my “mate/other half” one of these days and I won’t feel this way any more. LOL. 😛

  5. Great review hon. I am yet to see it, but I definitely want to. Like I said, especially since there is Timothy Olyphant is in it. I do like that aspect to. Your perfect mate already there for you. It is sad something like that is a fantasy. Frakking real world! I definitely prefer fantasy world to real world. I know that is crazy and depressing, but come on. We live in a world where I am more likely to find someone like The Situation from Jersey Shore! This thought alone is enough to make me want to give up and become a nun. But you are right hon, one day we will find our other half *fingers crossed*, but until that day comes, I will stay a cynic 😦

    • I can’t wait to hear what you think about it when you see it! I found out that the movie was actually based on a book so I will be buying that tomorrow because I enjoyed the movie so much! 🙂 I def agree with staying a cynic until I find the right guy, if I ever find the right guy. 😛 I have tossed around the idea of becoming a nun…maybe we can become nuns together! LOL.

  6. You didn’t know this was a book? I found out a while ago. I hope to check it out soon though. I want to check that out too. Glad t know I am not the only cynic out there. Reasons why I avoid romantic comedies, they are utter bullshit LOL! If we become nuns together, we should give ourselves cool names so at least we will be likable nuns LOL!

    • LMAO, I agree on the cool names if we become nuns! That would be awesome. I do watch romantic comedies sometimes but I have to be in the right mood, if I’m not in the right mood I roll my eyes, say how crappy and corny this all is and just get mad! LOL. Guys are dumb in my book…until one of them proves to me otherwise that’s what I’m sticking with!

  7. I barely get out to the movies anymore, but I’m definitely counting on at least watching this one at home when I can get it from redbox/streaming netflix/appleTV/whatever. LOL! I may even try to read the book first, but am not holding my breath. My reading queue is like a mile long!

    I’m also a fan of the whole life mate thing in paranormal romances, especially since it always seems to be the guy who has only one life mate. LOL! I mean, I know I won’t stray… so it’s nice to have that built-in guarantee that he won’t, right?

    • Exactly! I like they way you put that “built-in guarantee that he won’t [stray]”. That’s exactly how I feel cuz I know I won’t but I’ve been in a few relationships where they do. 😦 I think you will enjoy I am Number Four when you see it. I’m going to try to read it before the release of book two in the series and if I’m enjoying it still I’ll keep buying the series as the books are released!

Leave a Reply

