Gossip – 2000

-Rated R
-Released: April 2000
-90 Minutes
-Drama, Mystery, Thriller
-Starring: James Marsden, Lena Headey, Norman Reedus, Kate Hudson, and Joshua Jackson
-IMDb (5.6/10): “Three college students chose a class project on Gossip and how fast it spreads, which spirals out of control.”

6/5 Stars

Now the only reason I gave this a 6 out of 5 rating is because I have a long history with this movie.  I remember when I was a freshman in highschool and I saw this movie at blockbuster in their DVD’s for sale…well it had a couple of hot guys on the cover so I decided to go ahead and buy it.  The next thing I know I’m watching it over and over and over!  It was one of my favorite movies at that age and it didn’t disappoint me when I saw that you could watch it instantly on Netflix!

The movie surrounds three roommates who are all taking a class and decide for their class project that they are going to start a rumor, track it and see how people change the story over time.  It’s like the game telephone when you were younger.  🙂  The only problem is that this game they decide to play has some major consequences.  The twist at the end is just awesome!  The movie keeps you guessing until the end and you just can’t believe what’s going on.  It’s got a lot of drama and it’s just amazing at how some people seem to thrive on that drama.  You will not be disappointed by watching this movie (and if you are I would be shocked).  I don’t want to describe the movie too much because of the fact that it’s got a few big twists and I want you all to find those out for yourself while watching it!  So I’ll just talk a bit about the actors and their parts…

 We have James Marsden from X-men, The Notebook, 27 Dresses and several other movies. Marsden plays the part of Derrick Webb who is a very attractive man who has a lot of money and gets a lot of action from women.  He is your typical richy, bad boy who all the girls have heard about but want to have that experience with just to brag about it to their friends.

Lena Headey is Sarah Connor from the Terminator: Sarah Connor Chronicles, a TV Series that I’ve heard is very good. Headey plays the part of Cathy Jones, her friends call her Jones.  She is one of Derrick’s roommates and even though she likes to have fun she still keeps her head on straight when it comes to school.

Norman Reedus is from Boondock Saints (one of my favorite movies), American Gangster, Blade 2 and several other movies.  Reedus plays the part of Travis, the third roommate in our main trio who is an artist an a little on the weird side.  He is very quite and while Derrick always seems to get the girls, Travis is left on the side line.

Kate Hudson is from How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days, Bride Wars, Raising Helen and many more.  Hudson plays the part of Naomi Preston, the newest student at school who is known for enjoying a good time on the town but is not free with her body in the sex department.

Joshua Jackson is most well-known for is part as Pacey in Dawson’s Creek.  Jackson plays the part of Beau Edson, Naomi’s current boyfriend who can seem a bit on the cocky side.

You get all these amazing actors/actresses starting out in their careers, stick them in one 90 minute movie and you can’t help but be entertained!  The relationships between all the characters will leave you confused, intrigued and irritated at different points throughout the movie…but that is the point of entertainment right?!

I really encourage you to go check this movie out!  If you have Netflix you can watch it instantly.  🙂  Do know that if you get a chance to watch it, come back here and let me know what you think!  Even if you don’t like it I’d still like to know your thoughts.  😀

2 responses to “Gossip – 2000

  1. I really don’t remember hearing about this movie, but it sounds interesting. I usually stray away from movies with Kate Hudson in it, but this doesn’t look like a romantic comedy (or Skeleton Key) LOL! Thank you for the great review hon and happy to meet another Boondock Saints fan! Hope to check this out soon 🙂

    • It is not a romantic comedy for sure and I can honestly say I can’t compare it to the Skeleton Key since I never watched it. I do enjoy this movie and I know that I will be adding it to my next list of movies I need to buy.

      I am also happy to hear of another Boondock Saint’s fan! I love that movie…the story line rocks, the brothers are HOTT, the action is great…it’s just an awesome movie! 😀

Leave a Reply

