Weekly Update – March 20-26

Well this past week was Spring Break so I got a wonderful break from school…the only problem is that I got in a bit of a reading slump which was very depressing since this week would have been the perfect time to read a book a day and be ahead of the times, for once, on my reviews.  I did have a good week but the reality of school and being busy is going to start back up.

Last weekend was a bit crazy between working and helping check on one of my friends animals, but it did give me a lot of time to read and prepare for the Sookie Stackhouse Discussion that took place on Sunday.  We had a wonderful discussion over Dead to the World, book 4 in the series, and I also posed a question for everyone to ponder.  Who do you think Sookie should end up with by the end of the series and why?  Everyone is supposed to be thinking about this in preparation of our discussion taking place May 1st over book 10, Dead in the Family.  I can’t wait to see what people think after getting through those books and knowing that we only have 3 more books to read before the series has ended.

I was in a bit of a slump and finally decided that I needed to take a short step away from Sookie to give myself time to regroup.  This reread has been fantastic and I have come to notice several things this time around then I had the first time I read the books but with all the new knowledge I needed to just let my brain rest.  So I FINALLY picked up This Side of the Grave by Jeaniene Frost and have been reading it like CRAZY! Oh Cat and Bones, how i have missed thee!  I am so excited about Jeaniene’s cover reveal of her 6th book in the series, One Grave at a Time, it is just HOT! 😀  Can’t wait until the end of August to get my hands on it.

This was a nice week for me since it was so very laid back.  I do know that even though I have to start back up with school work this weekend I am going to take the time to read the rest of This Side of the Grave and try to get through Dead as a Doornail by Charlaine Harris.  Plus I’m going to take a much-needed bubble bath! 😀

So I decided to update my Goodreads reading list this past week and I have discovered that even with only putting the first book of series that I want to read on my TBR list and going through my entire bookshelf at home of books that I still need to read, I have 207 books on my TBR list.  I have not gone through my kindle and stocked the books I have on there yet…I’m a little afraid to!  I also discovered that I have 90…yes, 90 books on my bookshelf at home that I need to read.  Physical books, that I have in my possession, that still need to be read!  I have a strange habit of going to a bookstore in search of one book and walking out with about 6-10…so I’m going to have to ban myself from Target, The Dusty Bookshelf and Hastings until I get a lot of these books read (except of course to by the next Charlaine Harris and Jeaniene Frost books!).

For this next week with school starting back up I’m hoping to get through Charlaine Harris’ 7th book in the Sookie series, definitely Dead. That’s probably going to be the only book I get through but it will be something! 🙂

Posting Wise:
Sunday: Link to Dead as a Doornail Discussion
Monday: Some Fun for the Week w/amazing a capella performers
Tuesday: Review – This Side of the Grave
Wednesday: Movie Review – Kick-Ass
Thursday: Reading/Movie Meme announcement
Friday: Review – Dead as a Doornail and Day 1 of Reading Meme
Saturday: Weekly Update and Day 2 of Reading Meme
Sunday: Link to Definietly Dead Discussion and Day 3 of Reading Meme

4 responses to “Weekly Update – March 20-26

  1. Repeat after me my names Deanna and I am a book addict!
    207!!!!!! on your TBR and just 90 books on your book shelf girl you need to detox! No book buying for a month or something.
    It’s impressive though lol 🙂

    • Ally, maybe that is what I should name my blog! LOL. Only maybe saying My Name’s Deanna and I am a Book and Movie Addict! Yes I need to just focus on reading all these books on my shelf and then start buying again! I know part of my buying craziness is that I want to have a room dedicated fully to my books at some point in time like a library…but they are all books I really want to read and I know one of my plans is if I really don’t like it for some reason I’ll just take it to the Dusty Bookshelf and move to the next book….but I’m officially going to have to just not allow myself to go to any place with books! 😦

  2. do not talk about bookshelves, I used to have like 10 or so un-read books and now, only in 2 years the place has exploded. I should not buy more 😉

    • Haha, that’s exactly how I feel! I am really going to hold back and make it a point to try to get the majority of my bookshelf books read before checking out the others that my blogging friends have suggested! I haven’t even done any books through NetGalley recently due to the fact that I’ve been so swamped with other books. I’m just so glad I’m not the only one!

Leave a Reply

