Kick-Ass – 2010

-Rated R
-117 Minutes
-Director: Matthew Vaughn
-Starring: Aaron Johnson, Nicolas Cage and Chloe Moretz
-IMDb (8/10 rating): “Dave Lizewski is an unnoticed high school student and comic book fan who one day decides to become a super-hero, even though he has no powers, training or meaningful reason to do so.”

3.5/5 Stars

It took me a while to decide what I was going to rate this movie.  I really enjoyed the action but there was something about it that I didn’t completely click with.  Now, granted, when it comes to a comedy movie that also has some awesome action I really have to be in the mood for it and I’m not sure I was completely in the mood for this movie when I watched it.

It was fun to see the different superheros that were thought up for this movie and they picked a great lead actor for the part of Kick-Ass/Dave.  He was hilarious and very likeable.  He seemed to be all wrong for the super hero yet so right!

I love Nicolas Cage but he was a bit creepy for me in this movie.  I kept having flash backs of the bad man from The Lovely Bones. The way he talked and acted really just reminded me of creepy guy who abducts girls.  Now he wasn’t like that at all in this movie.  He was a father who truly loved and cared for his daughter in no such creepy way.  He has awesome moves as a super hero in this movie, well-trained in fighting and just completely awesome!  A bit disappointed that his uniform looked like Batmans.

Hit-girl was awesome! She was a little girl who was just bad-ass.  She is tough as hell, has amazing talent as a super hero, and has some funny lines!  She also has one of the best fighting/action scenes in the entire movie!

Overall this movie was awesome with the action, funny with the comedy but fell short for me for some reason that I still can’t put my finger on.  Maybe it was Nicolas Cage’s character mannerisms.  I really enjoyed the cartoon drawings as well because they did make them look like comic strips which was awesome.

If you enjoy comedies, you love action scenes and like super hero shows or movies like Superman, Batman and Spiderman you should check this movie out.  Just know this is NOT for kids (Rate R) even though there are several younger people in the show and it’s about Super heros.  It has a lot of cussing, violence and bloody scenes.

9 responses to “Kick-Ass – 2010

  1. Great review hon. I would have given it a 4 out of 5. I loved it. So true with Nicholas Cage. This is one of the few movies I liked him in and he really did look like Stanley Tucci from The Lovely Bones LOL! Definitely agree about his costume. It was a mixture of Batman and Nightowl from Watchmen. Hit-girl was so awesome. She should have had her own movie. I hope she does, she was too incredible. Great review again hon and thank you 🙂

    • It’s so funny that you say this is one of the first shows that you liked Nicolas Cage in because that is what one of my friends said about it too. I, on the other hand, have really enjoyed Nicolas Cage in several movies not just this one. I think he did an amazing job in this movie…I just couldn’t get passed the creepy vibe. I think that Hit-girl was awesome and I would definitely watch a movie if they came out with one that just focused on her.

  2. I’ve seen the trailer for this before and remember thinking it looked pretty interesting. Jason saw it and said the young girl steals the show (so pretty much what you said) 🙂

    • It is very interesting. It’s fun because unlike the other super hero movies this one is more of a comedy with some awesome fighting scenes. It was a nice change. You should see if Jason would watch it again and if so then you and him should do this for one of your date nights when the kids are not around. 😀

  3. I loved me some Kick Ass.

  4. Really Gr8 ! Thanks For sharing..

  5. I liked it and I have sure never seen such a fierce little girl, she was scary

Leave a Reply

