Meme Day 1: Your favorite series with more than 3

Hello all and welcome to Day One of this fantastic Meme I got from Jen at Not Now…I’m Reading’s blog.  I hope you all enjoy this and will participate along with me during my journey of my first Meme ever!  If this hit’s off well then I might start looking to do one every few months just with different subjects, questions and content. 😀

Your favorite series of books and movies (with more than 3 in the series)

For my favorite book series with more than 3 books I will have to say this spot still belongs to Harry Potter.  I absolutely loved these books while the were coming out and I’m even planning a reread, after the Sookie Stackhouse reread, so I can remember all the fun details that J.K. Rowling put throughout the series.  I loved how she tied all of the books together and she is an amazing writer since she went so long between books yet still tied details from book one into book 7 that you never even knew were significant!  I love this series and if you have not read them please go pick up book one and start it!  You will not be disappointed. 😀

Runners up in this category belong to The Southern Vampire Mysteries (Sookie Stackhouse) by Charlaine Harris and The Night Huntress Series by Jeaniene Frost

In the movies category I’m also going to have to put the Harry Potter Series down as my favorite.  I really love these movies and can still watch them over and over again.  I think that the directors did an amazing job of casting the characters from the books and I also think that they did a great job in following the books.  Yes there are several things from the books that are left out and a few things changed here and there, but overall they are just amazing!

Runners Up: I don’t have any that I can think of at the moment…

Just for fun I decided to add in my favorite tv series that had more than 3 season to it.  I am IN LOVE with Supernatural.  I own all of the seasons that are out on DVD, I watch them FREQUENTLY!  I love the show content, the fact that the brothers are sexy as hell and I’ve been a loyal fan of this show since it first aired when I was in highschool! 😀  It is right now in it’s 6th season and there have been rumors about it continuing on into a 7th season.  I can only cross my fingers and hope!  If you have not checked this series out, you must start with season one, so get on your Netflix or Blockbuster account and start watching instantly or order them to be delivered!  I am sure you will love them.  I have turned several people into Supernatural lovers like me.

Runners Up: Deadliest Catch, Army Wives, and Desperate Housewives

So tell me, what are your favorite book, movie and TV series?

11 responses to “Meme Day 1: Your favorite series with more than 3

  1. Glad you decided to give the meme a try. It takes some effort but, it’s fun.

    Favorite series: Kim Harrison’s Hollows series, Rachel Caine’s Weather Warden series, Keri Arthur’s Riley Jensen series, Patricia Briggs’ Mercy Thompson series, Charlaine Harris’ Sookie series…..just to name a few.

    • Do you have a favorite movie series with more than 3? What about a TV show?

      • Hmm…that’s tougher than picking the books.

        Movies:
        The Underworld movies and the Resident Evil movies are high on my list.
        TV:
        True Blood, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Charmed….noticing a trend there? LOL!

      • Actually now that I think about it I used to watch 90210 religiously as well. Oh that Dylan McKay….*sigh*

      • LOL, the Underworld series is great…but that’s probably going to go in my trilogy movies and Resident Evil is also badass but I’m not sure if I’d put it on my favorites since I still haven’t seen all of them more than once. 90210 was one I used to watch too all the time. I love the trend in show genres, it cracks me up! Have you ever tried to watch Supernatural? I think you’d like that because it talks about ghosts, werewolves, vampires, ghouls, and all sorts of other paranormal things!

  2. Favorite book series. That is HARD! I think Harry Potter would have been my first real series that I got into, but it didn’t get me super into reading though. The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare really got me hooked on books, The Black Dagger Brotherhood introduced me to PNR and Fever along with Kate Daniels introduced me to UF. So I have all of those on my tops list.
    Movies – Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings.
    TV – Friends is still my most fave. But of the shows that still air today, I’d have to say Glee. It’s actually the only thing I watch on TV now. Otherwise, I’ll pick a book over the television. 🙂

    • Yeah trying to pick one book series was very difficult but I really tried to make myself pick just one. For movies The Lord of the Rings will be featured later in my meme when it comes to a trilogy or tetrology. TV you can always pick any show that you love even if it is not still on TV. I know lots of people that loved Friends, I was never a religious watcher and I’ve heard a lot of rave about Glee but have never been able to watch it on a regular basis with my crazy schedule.

      Thanks for sharing Julie! I love to see what other peoples interests are.

  3. This is a great post hon. Well let’s see, this is going to be hard for me, I always look for series, books are otherwise. I will give it a whirl, these are just a few favorites LOL

    Books:
    1. The Black Dagger Brotherhood series (with Julie, it introduced me to PNR)
    2. Kate Daniels series
    3. Night Huntress series

    Movies:
    1. Alien (1 and 2 are the best, but I have seen the others plenty of times even though they weren’t as good as the first two)
    2. Die Hard
    3. Harry Potter

    TV:
    1. Buffy the Vampire Slayer
    2. Supernatural
    3. Being Human (UK)

    • I am going to be in the process of reading the BDB as soon as our reread for the Sookie Stackhouse series is over. I am very excited about that and the fact that I was able to win your awesome giveaway so that it gives me another push to start this series! I love Die Hard, I can’t believe I didn’t think of that one! Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Angle were big hits for me when they were out. I’ve actually started to collect the DVD’s slowly but surely. How long has Being Human been on? I saw it the other day on sci-fy but it just started being shown in the US right?

      • I hope you do. I can’t say it enough, the BDB are too good not to try. I am getting Lover Unleashed tomorrow, it is killing me waiting this long, but I know I won’t be able to put it down. I can’t wait to hear who your favorite brother is 🙂 And you are welcome again for the giveaway, glad you like it 🙂 Oh I love Die Hard. I believe that was my introduction into Action films. I have seen all of them. They will never go out of style for me. Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Angel were big hits for everyone. Buffy started my obsession with the paranormal and still watch the reruns, make me love the shows all over again LOL! Being Human is finishing there 3rd season next week. Tonight’s episode was epic! But the one on SyFy is the remake. That is why I put UK, the original plays on BBC and I love it. I haven’t started the US version too, quite frankly I am scared to. I love the characters of the show and I just hope they stay true to their personalities. They are so different, but they work well together.

      • I guess it looks like I need to check out the UK version of Being Human. Can you get it on DVD through Netflix do you know? I have only seen one or two episodes on Sy-Fy of the US version but I have trouble jumping into a show when it isn’t at the very beginning. So I might just have to try the UK Version since I know you and another person have now talked about it.

Leave a Reply

