Date Night – 2010

-Rated PG-13
-88 Minutes
-Director: Shawn Levy
-Starring: Steve Carell, Tina Fey and Mark Wahlberg
-IMDb (6.4/10 rating): “In New York City, a case of mistaken identity turns a bored married couple’s attempt at a glamorous and romantic evening into something more thrilling and dangerous.”

3.5/5 Stars

I wasn’t sure what to expect when I watched this movie, I remembered seeing the previews but for some reason I was assuming that it was a first date between Phil and Claire.  The truth is that they are a married couple with two kids and their marriage just roles along on a schedule.  They do plan a weekly date night but that consists of them going to the same resturant, ordering the same thing, and then heading back home.  There is no more real romance between them even though they seem to try.

That all changes one night when they both get an idea to really try to spice things up on their date night.  They both get dressed up and go into the city to have dinner.  They get into a very fancy resturant and are enjoying a wonderful dinner when things take a turn for the worst when they are expected of being a couple who stole a very important item from the mob…basically.  This puts them in a run for their life but they make it so comical.

You’ve got some awesome stars in the movie including James Franco, William Fitchner, Mila Kunis, and Ray Liotta (who did this movie uncredited!!)  Steve and Tina do an amazing job keeping the movie funny and their chemistry is great!  They really feed off of each other.  I will for sure be watching this movie again in the near future…just don’t know if I’ll be adding it to my DVD collection yet or not.

This movie is funny, suspensful, and entertaining.  This is a fun movie to watch when you need a good laugh or for a fun date movie with your significant other.

4 responses to “Date Night – 2010

  1. What you gave it is what Jason gave it too. I have not seen it, but it sounds fun. 🙂

    • It is a lot of fun and it’s very funny! It was hard for me to decide on a rating, as much as I enjoyed the movie I’m not sure it was a 4 or a 5…it really is so funny, not a waste of time at all! 😀

  2. Glad you liked the flick hon. I loved it. Steve Carrell and Tina Fey were great together and it was a fun storyline. Amazing what one little act can lead to. I have seen this movie bunches of times and it still cracks me up. Hope you get the chance to see it soon Julie, it is a great watch. Thanks for the great review hon 🙂

    • I think that Steve Carell and Tina Fey worked great together as well! They cracked me up the entire time. Trying to be so series yet they just said and did things that cracked me up. 😀 I’m hoping to see it again soon so I can laugh at all my favorite parts again. It is amazing at how one act can lead to such big things…sometimes not the best things. LOL.

Leave a Reply

