Meme Day 10: Didn’t Think You’d Like but Loved

A book you didn’t think you were going to like but ended up loving.  A movie you didn’t think you were going to like by ended up loving.

Think back to the past of your reading and watching careers, tehe…career…I wish!  Is there any books you can think of that someone suggested to you that you decided to try to read even though you didn’t think you liked it but in the end you were telling everyone that they HAD to read it?  What about movies, is there a movie that you saw come out that you weren’t completely interested in but decided to watch and then just had to buy a copy of it to place in your movie collection??

Isn’t that just a wonderful title?!  NOT!!!  So, one of my best friends is from New York and she is definitely not someone you would think to meet at an Agricultural College in the middle of Kansas.  She is the one who told me I had to read this book because my sense of humor would actually appreciate it and find it very entertaining.  I was not sure about this book…the title just throws you off and the content is nuts!  I knew it was about some guy who partied a lot, had sex a lot, and then shared his crazy stories with the world.  Yep, that’s what it’s about!  If you have a twisted sense of humor sometimes you might actually find this hilarious!  I couldn’t stop laughing.  You have the O.M.G, I can’t believe he actually did that! moments…then you have the Oh no she did not! moments.  I mean, it’s priceless.  To get a little taste of what his stories are like check out his website’s story area HERE.

Runners Up: Not sure I have many more.  I haven’t had many books suggested to me and of the ones that were suggested I either a) haven’t read them or b) read them because I thought I was going to like them…

This is a movie that your Mom suggests to you over and Over and OVER that you just don’t think you’ll enjoy at all.  I mean she goes on about how great of a movie it is and you think it looks stupid and like an “old lady film” so you try anything and everything to NOT watch it.  When you finally give in so she’ll stop talk about it you fall head-over-heels in love with it!  Yep, Fried Green Tomatoes is one of my all time favorite movies and I have to say thanks to my Mom about it!  She said that it’s a great movie and she was completely right.  This is another one that I can’t stop watching even if I wanted to!

Runners up: Forest Gump, Beaches (with Bette Midler), A League of Their Own…all of these movies were ones that my parents suggested I watch and they were not wrong, they are great movies!

So what is a book that you didn’t think you would like but ended up loving?  What is a movie that you really weren’t interested in watching but now can’t imagine life without it??

6 responses to “Meme Day 10: Didn’t Think You’d Like but Loved

  1. *thinks long and hard*
    I can’t think of a book..perhaps The Hunger Games books, for some reason I never think I will like books that are so talked about

    • Yeah The Hunger Games is a series that everyone has been talking about in my town as well. My parents both read the trilogy and told me that I should really read them, my sister (who isn’t a reader at all) read the first one and really enjoyed it. So I know that I will be reading this series sometime this summer. When I have more time and I don’t have school that I need to focus on.

  2. ..confused..did my post go through

    • Yeah your post went through. It was weird because you’ve commented on my blog several times and for some reason my spam filter picked it up…I don’t know what is going on with WordPress. There are a few things that I never had problems with before that I’m all of a sudden having a lot of problems with…so I’m a little annoyed right now.

  3. I can’t say I’ve had a book that I didn’t think I’d like but ended up liking it. If I don’t think I’ll like it, I just don’t read it. lol Pretty much the same thing goes for movies. I know what I like and I’m too stubborn to let someone talk me into watching a movie I’m not interested in. I mean, that is potentially 2 hours of my life that I’ll never get back. 😉

    • LOL, I think a lot of people have the save feeling Julie! I don’t think that is bad one bit! 🙂 I just like to challenge myself sometimes and it has paid off a lot in movies so far. I have the problem with books of knowing that it is going to take me a while to get through it and I don’t want to read it if I’m not going to like it and spend all those hours reading it when I could have been reading something I would have enjoyed.

Leave a Reply

