All Together Dead – Charlaine Harris (Sookie Stackhouse #7)

Fantasy, Mystery, Romance
Target
Paperback
$5.99
336 pages
Ace Books
Released: May 2007
Sookie Stackhouse Series #7


6/5 Stars

Book Description:
Being surrounded by all varieties of undead, changeling and preternatural beings has gotten to be nothing out of the ordinary for Louisiana cocktail waitress Sookie Stackhouse.  Still even she has her limits. Betrayed by her long time vampire love, Sookie must now not only deal with a possible new man in her life – the oh-so handsome shapeshifter Quinn – but also contend with the long-planned vampire summit in Rhodes.
The summit, which has attracted undead power players from all over the central U.S., is sure to be a tense situation.  The vampire queen of Louisiana is in a precarious position, her power base weakened by hurricane damage to New Orleans.  And there are some vamps who would like to finish what nature started.  With secret alliances and backroom deals the order of the day – and night – Sookie must decide what side she’ll stand with.  And her choice may mean the difference between survival and all-out catastrophe….

This is by far my absolute favorite book in the Sookie Stackhouse Series!  I still can’t figure out why I love it so much but I really do…maybe it is all the action…

Sookie is called to help the Queen of Louisiana when she must go on trial for the alledged murder of her husband.  Sookie knows what really happened at the end of the last book but only a few “people” do and that would be her, the Queen, and the Queens right-hand-man Andre.  Sookie must somehow try to get her point across without allowing anyone else to really figure out the kind of power she has.

Sexy weretiger Quinn is in this book again and I do really enjoy him and Sookie as a couple.  He is sweet but is still hiding some kind of secret from Sookie.  I am glad they finally were able to sleep together instead of just the random make out session here and there…and it was HOT!  🙂

This book is jam-packed with events from the Marriage of Sookie’s brother to the major catastrophe that happens at the very end.  You do not want to put this book down because it’s one thing after another and you just HAVE to know what happens next.

We get to see old friends of Sookies that she met in Living Dead in Dallas including Barry the only other telepath Sookie has ever met.  I really enjoy the bond these two have since they have that one huge thing in common.  I’m so happy to see Barry growing into his role as a telepath among vampires and I was very happy to see he wasn’t as nervous and jittery as he was the first time around.  Haha.  Still makes me chuckle to think of him in Living Dead in Dallas.

Bottom Line: If you enjoy action, adventure, mystery, love and a bit of drama you would really enjoy this series.  You’ve got all the supernatural elements include vampires, were’s and fairies. Charlaine does a great job in writing the major events that are occurring and you feel you are right there by Sookie going through everything she is.  I am going to say this every and I do mean EVERY review…do not read these books as stand alones!  You must start with book 1 and read through the series.  Charlaine does try to give background information on some of the characters but you can’t appreciate Sookie’s situations unless you’ve read through them in the previous books.

The Sookie Stackhouse Series:
Dead Until Dark
Living Dead in Dallas
Club Dead
Dead to the World
Dead as a Doornail
Definitely Dead
All Together Dead
From Dead to Worse
Dead and Gone
Dead to the Family
Dead Reckoning (May 3, 2011)

4 responses to “All Together Dead – Charlaine Harris (Sookie Stackhouse #7)

  1. Still going strong 😀

  2. I’m not reading your reviews because I have yet to pick up this series. Jen tried to convince me to watch the show and I think one day I will. Will it make me want to read the books? Dunno. But I am glad to see you are enjoying your re-read. 🙂

    • LOL, I completely understand why you are not reading my reviews right now. I have been doing the same to some of your reviews on series that I really want to read. Keep your eyes peeled for a fun giveaway happening in a couple of weeks. 😀 I do enjoy the show but still love the books so much better. I have to think of them as two seperate things just using the same character names. 😛 I’m weird I know.

Leave a Reply

