Arthur (2011)

-Rated PG-13
-Released: April 2011
-110 Minutes
-Comedy
-Starring: Russell Brand, Helen Mirren and Jennifer Garner
-IMDb (5/10):A drunken playboy stands to lose a wealthy inheritance when he falls for a woman his family doesn’t like.


6/5 Stars

Were to even begin telling you all about this very funny and emotional movie…I guess I’ll try to explain the plot line a bit better first.  This is a remake of a movie that was made in the 80’s I guess and I haven’t seen that one yet but I know that I will probably try to just to compare the two at some point.

Arthur comes from a very rich family and even though he is 30 years old he has had everything handed to him his entire life.  He even has a nanny still who watches over him and takes care of him on a daily basis.  Arthur has a lot of life lessons that he needs to learn but still hasn’t grown up at all.  When he starts to put his family name at risk his mother gives him and ultimatum that if he doesn’t marry Susan (Jennifer Garner) he will be cut from his money and his family.  Susan is a bit of a nut job and to make things even more complicated Arthur falls in love with an average everyday woman.

My Thoughts:
This movie was just plain funny!  We had a group of 10 people go to it ranging in ages from a Freshman in highschool to 26 years old and we had two guys in that group and we all loved it and gave it a 10/10.  The movie had so many funny parts that we all couldn’t help laughing the whole time.  There was one sad section to the whole movie and my friend and I cried through it because you were emotionally attached to the characters by that point (I’m such a sap!)

I didn’t know what to expect from this movie but I know that it wasn’t what I got.  This movie far exceeded my expectations and I’m really ok with that.  I didn’t know about Jennifer Garners character because what they show you in the previews isn’t anything like she is in the movie, well at least the way I interpreted it.

Arthur was a hilarious movie that had you laughing the whole time.  The actors and characters are fantastic!  You have the funny spoiled “boy”.  His amazing nanny that you can’t help but love.  His driver that is his right hand man.  The bitchy mother.  The crazy woman who wants to be his wife and then the down-to-earth girl who you just can’t help but love.  I would HIGHLY suggest you watch this movie and be prepared to laugh (and if you’re a sap like me have tissues present).

Bottom Line: I will be buying this movie as soon as it is out on DVD! 😀

4 responses to “Arthur (2011)

  1. I watched the old movie and I am sure to watch this new version too 😀 It does look fun, and I like silliness

  2. I haven’t watched this and the only reason I want to is for Russell Brand. He makes everything better LOL! But thank you for the great review hon. This movie sounds like a blast and I can’t wait to check it out 🙂

    • I really hope you enjoy it. I’ll keep my eyes peeled for your review of it when you do get a chance to watch it just to see what your thoughts on it are. I know our opinions of movies aren’t always the same but it’s fun to see what you think of them and why you did or did not like a movie that I didn’t or did like.

Leave a Reply

