Dead and Gone – Charlaine Harris (Sookie Stackhouse #9)

Fantasy, Mystery, Romance
Target
Paperback
$5.99
312 pages
Ace Books
Released: May 2009
Sookie Stackhouse Series #9


3/5 Stars

From Publishers Weekly:
Telepathic waitress Sookie Stackhouse braces herself for trouble when another group of supernatural beings goes public in her disjointed [ninth] adventure (after 2008’s From Dead to Worse). Following the vampires’ lead, the shape-shifters decide to step out of the woodwork and announce their existence to the world. While the initial reveal goes smoothly, the brutal crucifixion of a young werepanther behind the local bar makes Sookie wonder if the people of Bon Temps, La., are as tolerant as she thought. Meanwhile, the FBI is asking questions about Sookie’s uncanny ability to locate survivors after an explosion, and trouble is brewing among the secretive fae. Harris tries to cram too much into a single story, and even die-hard fans of Sookie’s adventures in print and on HBO’s True Blood will complain about the plot gaps. (May)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

My Review:
I completely agree with what Publishers Weekly states above.  I love the Sookie Stackhouse series, don’t get me wrong, but it feels like Charlaine has so much stuff she wants to put in one book that she crams it all in.  Of course, I think she does this so we understand how crazy Sookie’s life is…but I’d think it was crazy just having one or two of the plot lines happening to her instead of about 20.  This book could have easily been split into two books one dealing with the murder of the werepanther and the other book dealing with the fae war.

This book dealt with Eric and Sookie’s relationship.  The Were and Shapeshifter reveal to all of the world.  The murder of a pregnant werepanther.  The huge betrayal of an ex-bestfriend.  A war breaking out between the fairies that has Sookie smack dab in the middle of it.  The FBI questioning Sookie about events in book seven. And then the deaths a few deaths that I was not ok with.

You see…lots of things going on in one book that isn’t even that long!  So I gave this book 3 stars because there was so much going on it was hard to keep up with at times.  I was also very upset with two of the deaths.  You learn something about one of the characters about 10 pages before their death and you can’t help but ask, “Was that even necessary to tell us?”  It was like kicking a dead horse while it’s down, there is no point.  Either leave out the surprising, and fantastic news, and have the character die or keep the character alive and let us be happy about something for once.

Bottom Line: I love this series but I just can’t see a HEA coming anytime soon and that is making me a little depressed.  I’m glad to know that book 13 will be the last in the series but I really hope that all the bad news starts to lighten up a bit.

The Sookie Stackhouse Series:
Dead Until Dark
Living Dead in Dallas
Club Dead
Dead to the World
Dead as a Doornail
Definitely Dead
All Together Dead
From Dead to Worse

Dead and Gone
Dead to the Family
Dead Reckoning (May 3, 2011)

4 responses to “Dead and Gone – Charlaine Harris (Sookie Stackhouse #9)

  1. Read it, and this one was the last I read. Now I am just waiting for the rest to come out 😉

    • I think you’ve got a good plan there to just wait for the remaining 3 books to be out before finishing the rest of the series. I will probably continue to read the rest of the series but I’m glad for my reread I’ve go ahead and written reviews and done the discussion, it will be a good way to help me refresh my mind every year a new book comes out.

  2. LOL! I totally agree with you. HEA doesn’t seem possible at all at this point and it is a little depressing. Also agree on how some parts of this book seemed more like fillers, not really needed in the book, just…there. Can’t wait to see your review for book 10, everyone knows that was not a favorite for me though, but this one wasn’t too bad. Thank you for the great review hon 🙂

    • Thanks a lot Diana! Book 10 wasn’t my favorite either. I am right now about 1/3 of the way through it and I still have major parts I don’t remember. I just remember the very end and how much of a let down it was. I really hope Charlaine starts picking up Sookie’s life to get it to the HEA before the 13th book. But I don’t see that really happening because she has made life tough for Sookie in every book from the very beginning.

Leave a Reply

