Meme Day 28: First Book & Movie Obsession

What was your first book obsession?  What was your first movie obsession?

What was your first book or series that you just couldn’t stop talking about and you wanted to read them over and over and over again and you just knew you wouldn’t get tired of them?  What about a movie that you watched and you loved it so much that you had to watch it over and over and over and you ended up running out your VHS Tape or DVD?  That is what I think about when I think of this question and this one is pretty darn easy for me. 😀

Throughout this whole Meme I have used Harry Potter for many of the questions.  The reason for that is because it was my first book obsession!  I do mean obsession as in, I read each of them as soon as I had them in my hands and the day they were released I was there as soon as the store opened so I could buy them!  Yep, obsessed.  I told all of my friends and family about them and urged everyone that they should HAD to read them!  I still love the books and I’m actually planning a reread in June before I go watch The Deathly Hallows Part 2 in theaters.  🙂

I’ve already mentioned this movie in the favorite childhood book and movie meme but it was my first movie obsession.  I literally watched this every morning before going to Kindergarten.  I would eat spagetti-o’s and watch the movie as much as I possibly could.  I guess my Mom had bought it at the dollar store, we were on the poor end when I was younger, and she had hoped that I would love the movie and I did.  I still remember things from the movie and that was 20 years ago! Definitely my first movie obsession!

What about you guys? What was your first book obsession that you can remember?  What book/series did you tell everyone and their mother that they HAD to read?  What about a movie? Have any movies you couldn’t help but watch until you wore the poor VHS or DVD out?

6 responses to “Meme Day 28: First Book & Movie Obsession

  1. I think my first book obsession was anything written by Christopher Pike. Couldn’t get enough of the guy.

    I think my first movie obsession was Flash Dance. I know weird but, I loved the part where she would tape her feet up.

  2. First book obsession? That is a good question. I honestly can’t remember. When I was really young a book I use to read a lot was The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe and Where The Wild Things Are. I couldn’t stop reading those at all.

    First Movie Obsession? First movie obsession was and still is Back to the Future 2 and/or Alien(s). I still watch those movies like I just watched them for the first time. They will never die for me 🙂

    I have never read anything from Christopher Pike unfortunately and I only watched Flash Dance once, but I liked it 🙂

    • I have yet to read The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe…I think I need to check that whole series out sometime. I loved Where the Wild Things Are. All of the Back to the Future movies were great and I know you’ve mentioned that and Alien(s) on here before. I don’t think I’ve really watched the Alien movies hardcore before so I think that I will have to make myself do that!

      I own Flash Dance but I don’t watch it much. I got it in a duel movie set with Footloose and I LOVE that movie. 🙂

  3. Movie….my first? Hmm…I think it would be Speed. When I got it on VHS, I watched it over and over and over.
    Books, I’m with you and would say Harry Potter. Then Twilight then Mortal Instruments.

    • Speed is a great movie! I can see why it might be your first movie obsession. 🙂 I love Harry Potter, I love Twilight, now I just need to read Mortal Instruments and I’m sure that it will be another series that I love. 🙂

Leave a Reply

