Scre4m (2011)

-Horror, Mystery, Thriller
-Rated R
-111 Minutes
-Directed by Wes Craven
-Starring: Neve Campbell, Courteney Cox and David Arquette
-IMDb (7.2/10 rating): Ten years have passed, and Sidney Prescott, who has put herself back together thanks in part to her writing, is visited by the Ghostface Killer.


2/5 Stars

I was less than impressed by this installment to the Scream movies.  I don’t think it was completely terrible but when you’ve waited YEARS and you’ve brought back all of the original cast to finally make another Scream movie then you better go big or go home!  This movie left me feeling like I should have just stuck with the original trilogy and instead of going to the movie theater I should have stayed home and had a Scream movie marathon!

The story line was good since they try to throw out all the rules from the previous three that does keep you guessing till the end.  I had no idea who the killers were and I only had a suspicion of the one but had only really guessed tons of other people.  So that was shocking for me but when the killings occurred some of the victims would say the dumbest things like it was supposed to make you laugh but you didn’t want to laugh because it was SUPPOSED to be a SCARY part not a comedy!  *Rolls Eyes* I was very disappointed with this!

Overall the movie had a few parts that made me jump, I was happy to see Gale, Dewey and Sidney all back in the picture. I was glad to see Sidney was still a kick-ass girl who didn’t just run away from the killer she actually fought back.  I was happy to see that they had me guessing till the end on who the killer was going to be.  I was disappointed in the parts they tried to make funny that just weren’t.  I was hoping for more scare and more bang for my buck when it’s been 11 years since Scream 3 was released.  If they ever decide to make another Scream movie I will probably wait until it comes out on DVD to watch it…if you’re a huge Scream fan wait until it comes out on DVD to watch this installment of it!

4 responses to “Scre4m (2011)

  1. I will see it…will see then

  2. The Scream franchise was always part comedy-part horror, but I honestly thought it was a joke when I saw the poster for this. It has been forever and Scream 3 wrapped everything up, I thought anyway. I was a huge fan of the movies even though part 3 was lacking a bit for me. Nonetheless, I will wait until this is OnDemand or something. I honestly can’t believe there was more 😦 Thank you for the great review hon 🙂

    • I do agree that they have always been part comedy, part horror but this movie just didn’t mix them well. IDK, maybe I should have watched the first three to really get me into the movies. I have a friend whose a huge Scream fan too and she said the same thing after watching this movie…she just wasn’t sure how to feel about it. The one good thing about this movie is that it made me want to watch the first three again…

Leave a Reply

