Dead Reckoning by Charlaine Harris (Sookie Stackhouse #11)

Fantasy, Mystery, Romance
Amazon
Kindle
$15.99
Ace Books
Released: May 2011
Sookie Stackhouse Series #11


3/5 Stars

Goodreads:
With her knack for being in trouble’s way, Sookie witnesses the firebombing of Merlotte’s, the bar where she works. Since Sam Merlotte is now known to be two-natured, suspicion falls immediately on the anti-shifters in the area. But Sookie suspects otherwise and she and Sam work together to uncover the culprit – and the twisted motive for the attack. But her attention is divided. Though she can’t ‘read’ vampires, Sookie knows her lover Eric Northman and his ‘child’ Pam well – and she realises that they are plotting to kill the vampire who is now their master. Gradually, she is drawn into the plot -which is much more complicated than she knows. Caught up in the politics of the vampire world, Sookie will learn that she is as much of a pawn as any ordinary human – and that there is a new Queen on the board . . .

This book did tie up some loose ends but it opened up a lot of new leads and I have no clue how Harris is going to tie it up in just two books.  It’s getting to the point in the series that I think fans are ready for some answers with no new questions and some happy endings again.  I feel like the past few books have just been completely emotionally draining because they all end on bad notes.

Sookie is confusing in this book not being able to make up her mind on a huge issue.  Her and her relationship with Eric is just getting to the point where you want to smack both of them up side the head and tell them to either be together and happy or go their separate ways.  A few old flames are back in the picture (kind of) and that’s a bit frusterating…I’m ready for some wrap up!  A new special item is introduced and I’m very afraid at how Harris is going to choose to use it in the series.  Oh, and the Fairies are starting to drive me bonkers!

I will say that this series has caused much uproar and lots of discussion (I mean Jen D and I even had a 10 week discussion series on the series) from fans with frustration and hopefulness at how Harris is going to end this series.  Two more books are left, possibly a two year wait for it to end, and so many loose ends and questions that I am afraid the last two books are going to fill very rushed.  The way Harris ends with the last two books might make or break how her fans feel about the series overall…I’m getting very, very, very nervous about this!!!

The Sookie Stackhouse Series:
Dead Until Dark
Living Dead in Dallas
Club Dead
Dead to the World
Dead as a Doornail
Definitely Dead
All Together Dead
From Dead to Worse

Dead and Gone
Dead to the Family
Dead Reckoning

2 responses to “Dead Reckoning by Charlaine Harris (Sookie Stackhouse #11)

  1. I am almost done with the book. Should be finished tonight. And man oh man, do I have some issues. I am not appreciating how things are going with Eric. I love him and Sookie almost seems like she is looking for a way out. So I don’t really agree with you there. I definitely want to smack Sookie. I am so with you, I am very nervous for the next couple of books as well. I have a feeling my review will have a few choice words for Harris 😦 Thanks for the review hon.

    • Haha, wait till the end with Eric. I’ll be interested about how you feel then. I like him a lot just don’t think he’s the best for Sookie. Thanks for checking my review out I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on it and read your review!

Leave a Reply

