Water for Elephants (2011)

-Rated PG-13
-Released: April 22, 2011
-120 Minutes
-Drama
-Starring: Robert Pattinson, Reese Witherspoon and Christoph Waltz
-IMDb (7/10 rating): “A veterinary student abandons his studies after his parents are killed and joins a traveling circus as their vet.”


4/5 Stars

Water for Elephants starts off with an elderly man in the rain walking to the circus at night, he’s hoping to catch the show but when he shows up it’s too late and the show is over and getting ready to move out.  The owner of the show takes him to his trailer to try to call someone to come pick him up, once there the old man starts talking about when he was in the circus and proceeds to get a glass of scotch and start to tell his story.

The movie then fades into a younger version of the old man, Jacob Jankowski, leaving his parents house to head to school to take his final test to become a veterinarian just like his father.  His life is going to be working at his fathers practice and then eventually taking it over when he gets older.  Life has a change of plans for him when his parents die in a wreck and Jacob takes off on foot.  It’s the time of the depression and he has nothing left for him at home…when he stumbles upon a moving train he decides to jump on hoping to get further away from the life he left behind.  That faithful jump changes the course of his life from an almost Cornell graduate of Veterinary Medicine to a circus worker.

Robert Pattinson plays the young Jacob and he does an amazing job! It was strange to see him in a different role than Edward from the Twilight Saga but I think he did an amazing job capturing the personality of Jacob.  Reese Witherspoon is our lovely Marlena and she does play her well.  It was strange seeing Reese in this role because in real life Reese is in her 30’s but she is playing the part of a woman in her early 20’s.  I’m not saying Reese looks OLD by any means, because she doesn’t, it was just strange trying to think of her as younger than Jacobs character.  She does a great job though capturing the love and nurturing for the animals just as Marlena did!  Now to Christopher Waltz who plays Marlena’s husband, he did an amazing job capturing the character of August.  He wasn’t who I had made in my mind while reading the book but wow he does a great job!

Water for Elephants is a magical movie and I really enjoyed it.  You have the aspects of what it was like to be on a circus in the early 1900’s and Rosie, our beloved elephant, has a great part.  This is one of those times I would have loved to be an actor…you get paid tons of money to work with circus animals on a film!  I’m jealous.  LOL.

My final note is, I really enjoyed the movie.  It gave me goose bumps, brought tears to my eyes (both happy and sad), made me laugh and I had a smile on my face for most of the movie.  However, I don’t know if I would have been this effected by the movie if I hadn’t read the book.  But instead of saying anything in comparison to the book stay tuned tomorrow for my comparison review of the book and the movie. 😀

8 responses to “Water for Elephants (2011)

  1. I am still saying that I am just gonna watch the movie 😉 But will see what you say tomorrow

  2. Seeing the trailer for this movie when I was in the theater is what made me add this book to my To Read list. I’m not even sure if I’ll watch the movie, but at least the trailer piqued my interest in the book!

    • Haha, the book is amazing…it really is. I loved it so much I’ve told everyone who is a reader to read it. I just hope they all enjoy it as much as me. LOL.

  3. Great review hon. But I think I will read the book first before I see the movie. It is only right. I have heard plenty of complaints about Pattinson’s and Witherspoon’s romance in this movie. Didn’t seem to work for a lot of people. I heard Witherspoon herself complaining about it because apparently Pattinson had one hell of a cold. Gross 😦 LOL! Thanks for the great review hon 🙂

    • I’m happy to hear that you want to read the book first. It’s great. Now I don’t want to talk it up too much for fear that you all will read it and hate it but I really think that everyone will enjoy it. I think their romance was hard to comprehend becuase she is so much older than him in real life. It was weird seeing her play a 20 year old who is younger than Pattinson.

  4. Just thought I would let you know that your tagline in the beginning near the IMDB rating isn’t about Water for Elephants. Copy and paste error?

    “-IMDb (7/10 rating): “Three college students chose a class project on Gossip and how fast it spreads, which spirals out of control.””

Leave a comment